With normal incremental backup, a full backup is created first. The subsequent backups are then smaller incremental backups that only store the changes to the full backup. Each backup therefore contains the differences to the previous backup.
Ashampoo Backup uses a different principle for image backup: "Reverse-incremental backup". First, a full backup is created. During the next backup, the data of the full backup is moved completely to the new backup and the old backup is replaced by an incremental version. The old backup then only contains the differences to the subsequent backup.
In case of an reverse-incremental backup, the latest backup is always a full backup.
Faster recovery and faster browsing:
With normal incremental backup, data of the most recent backup is scattered across many backup versions. This slows down the recovery process. With an reverse-incremental backup, all current data is stored in the most current backup and fast access is possible.
Higher data security:
The most valuable data in a backup is always the most up-to-date. With a normal incremental backup, the current data depends on all previous backups. If one of these backups is damaged, all subsequent data is lost, including the most recent backup.
With an incremental backup, the most current backup does not depend on any other backup. If an old backup is damaged, only the backup preceding the damaged backup are affected, but not the more valuable current backup.
Simplified storage management:
With reverse-incremental backup, the oldest backup can be simply deleted at any time without affecting the subsequent backup. A fine-granular memory management is therefore possible, which can also be automated.
Even if the target disk is completely full, the solution is very simple: it can simply delete an old backup.
With a normal incremental backup, however, a new complete backup must first be created. Only then can the entire block of previous old backups be deleted at once. If there is not enough storage space available for a new full backup, you are in a "dead end" and the backup cannot be continued without time-consuming manual intervention.